Rajasthan State Symbols

Rajasthan is a state in northern India.  Jaipur is the state capital, in the east central part of the state. It covers an area of 342,239 square kilometres (132,139 sq mi) or 10.4% of the total geographical area of India. It is the largest Indian state by area and the 7th largest by population. Rajasthan is located on the northwestern side of India, where it comprises most of the wide and inhospitable Thar Desert also known as the “Rajasthan Desert” and “Great Indian Desert” and shares a border with the Pakistani provinces of Punjab to the northwest and Sindh to the west, along the Sutlej-Indus river valley. Elsewhere it is bordered by five other Indian states: Punjab to the north; Haryana and Uttar Pradesh to the northeast; Madhya Pradesh to the southeast and Gujarat to the southwest.

The state was formed on 30 March 1949 when Rajputana the name adopted by the British Raj for its dependencies in the region was merged into the Dominion of India. Other important cities are Jodhpur, Kota, Bikaner, Ajmer, Alwar and Udaipur. The economy of Rajasthan is the ninth-largest state economy in India with 9.24 lakh crore in gross domestic product and a per capita GDP of 108,000.

State Symbols of Rajasthan

  • State Emblem: Uses the National Emblem of India
  • State Animal: Chinkara

rajasthan state animal chinkara

  • State Heritage Animal: Camel is the official state Animal of Rajasthan. It was officially declared on 19 september, 2014.


  • State Bird: Godawan or Great Indian Bustard. It was declared in 1981.

Responsive image

  • State Flower:  In 1983, Rohida (Tecomella undulata) declared as official state Flower of Rajasthan. It found mostly Thar Desert.


  • State Tree: Khejri (Prosopis Cineraria) is the official tree of the State.


State Dance: Ghoomar is the official dance of the State.

State Game of Rajasthan: Basketball is the official Game of the State.