Sr. No


Date of Birth Date of Death
1 Jawahar Lal Nehru 14-Nov-1889 27-May-1964
2 Gulzarilal Nanda 4 July 1898 15-Jan-1998
3 Lal Bahadur Shastri 02-Oct-1904 11-Jan-1966
4 Gulzarilal Nanda 4 July 1898 15-Jan-1998*
5 Indira Gandhi 19-Nov-1917 31-Oct-1984
6 Morarji Desai 29-Feb-1996 10-Apr-1995
7 Charan Singh 23-Dec-1902 29-May-1987
8 Indira Gandhi 19-Nov-1917 31-Oct-1984
9 Rajiv Gandhi 20-Aug-1944 21 May 1991
10 Vishwanath Pratap Singh 25 June 1931 27 November 2008
11 Chandra Shekhar 1 July 1927 8 July 2007
12 P. V. Narasimha Rao 28 June 1921 23 December 2004
13 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 25 December 1924
14 H. D. Deve Gowda 18 May 1933
15 Inder Kumar Gujral 4 December 1919 30 November 2012
16 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 25 December 1924
17 Dr. Manmohan Singh 26 September 1932
18 Narendra Modi 17 September 1950

prime minister nehru red rose
India’s first prime minister: PANDIT JAWAHARLAL NEHRU

First female prime minister of India: INDIRA GANDHI

Narendra Modi full name: Narendra Damodardas Modi.

 The Prime Minister of India is the head of government and leader of the executive branch of the Government of India. The Prime Minister is also the chief adviser to the President of India and head of the Council of Ministers. They can be a member of any of the two houses of Parliament (the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha), but has to be the leader of the political party, having a majority in the Lok Sabha.

The Prime Minister is the senior member of cabinet in the executive branch of government in a parliamentary system. The Prime Minister selects and can dismiss other members of the cabinet; allocates posts to members within the Government; is the presiding member and chairman of the cabinet.


Eligibility According to Article 84 of the Constitution of India, which sets the principle qualification for member of Parliament, and Article 75 of the Constitution of India, which sets the qualifications for the minister in the Union Council of Minister, and the argument that the position of prime minister has been described as ‘first among equals’,

A prime minister must:

  • Be a citizen of India.
  • Be a member of the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha. If the person chosen as the prime minister is neither a member of the Lok Sabha nor the Rajya Sabha at the time of selection, they must become a member of either of the houses within six months.
  • Be above 25 years of age if they are a member of Lok Sabha or above 30 years of age if they are a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • Not hold any office of profit under the Government of India or the Government of any State or under any local or other authority subject to the control of any of the said Governments.

If however a candidate is elected as the prime minister they must vacate their post from any private or government company and may take up the post only on completion of their term.