The Peninsula India

Meaning and Definition of Peninsula

The word Peninsula is derived from Latin word paeninsula. Paene means“almost” and insula means “island”. It is a land form surrounded by water on the majority of its border while being connected to a mainland from which it extends.

Peninsula India

The Peninsular India

The Peninsular Plateau of India is also named as the Plateau of Peninsular India. Its biggest part is known as the Deccan Plateau, comprising the most part of southern portion of the nation. The plateau ascends 100 meters in the north, ascending further to over 1,000 meters to the south, creating an elevated triangle situated in the well-known downhill-moving triangle of the seashore of the Indian subcontinent.

The Peninsular India can be divided into four regions.

  1. Central Highlands
  2. Deccan Plateau
  3. Western Ghats
  4. Eastern Ghats.
    1. Central Highlands: The northern segment of the peninsular cluster is known as the Central Highlands, despite the fact that they are not really so high. It was formed from hard metamorphic and igneous rocks. The cluster consists of two segments, demarcated by the west-running Narmada River. The Vindhyas and its eastern stretches enclose the one situated to the north on one region. To the north-west, it is edged by the Aravalli Mountain Ranges. The plateau extends more to the west, but is intersected by the arenaceous and stony arid region of Rajasthan. These are quite old examples of fold mountains. On the third side, this plateau fuses gradually in the Gangetic Plains of the north. This is named as the Malwa Plateau. It is considerably broad in the west and becomes narrowed to the east.
    2. Deccan Plateau – The Deccan Plateau is situated to the south of the Indo-Gangetic Basin. The Western Ghats Mountain Range is quite high and stops the humidity from the southwestern monsoon from arriving at the plateau. Therefore, the area gets negligible precipitation.
    3. The Western Ghats: They make the western and eastern edges of the Deccan Plateau. The average elevation of Western Ghats is 900 – 1600 meters, Compared to 600 meters in case of Eastern Ghats. The Eastern Ghats stretch from Mahanadi Valley to the Nilgiris in the south. The Western Ghats cause oceanographic rains as they face the rain-laden winds from west.
    4. Eastern Ghats: The Eastern Ghats are a discontinuous range of mountains along India’s eastern coast. The Eastern Ghats run from the northern Odisha through Andhra Pradesh to Tamil Nadu in the south passing some parts of Karnataka and in the Wayanad district of Kerala. They are eroded and cut through by four major rivers of peninsular India, viz. Godavari, Mahanadi, Krishna, and Kaveri.The mountain ranges run parallel to the Bay of Bengal. The Deccan Plateau lies to the west of the range, between the Eastern Ghats and Western Ghats. The coastal plains, including the Coromandel Coast region, lie between the Eastern Ghats and the Bay of Bengal. The Eastern Ghats are not as high as the Western Ghats.