Indian research institutes

National or central research institutes of India are established by the Government of India. A research institute or research center is an establishment founded for doing research. Research institutes may specialize in basic research or may be oriented to applied research. Here is the list of research institutes and their location.

Name of Research Institute Location
Central Forest Research Institute Dehradun
Indian Institute of Petroleum Dehradun (Uttarakhand)
Haffkine Institute Mumbai (Maharashtra)
Indian Cancer Research Institute Mumbai
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Mumbai
Cattle breeding Institute Hissar (Haryana)
National Dairy Research Institute Karnal (Haryana)
National Tuberculosis Institute Banglore (Karnataka)
Raman Research centre Banglore (Karnataka)
National Aeronautical Laboratory Banglore
Vallabhai Patel Chest Institute Delhi
National Institute of Communicable Diseases Delhi
Central Road Research Institute New Delhi
Indian Meteorological Observatory Delhi
All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) New
National Institute of Malaria Research New Delhi
Indian Agricultural Research Institute New Delhi
Central Coconut Research Institute Kerala
National Environmental Engineering Research Institute Nagpur (Maharashtra)
Central Institute of Mining and Fuel Research Dhanbad (Jharkhand)
Center for Molecular and Cellular Biology Hyderabad (Telangana)
National Botanical Research Institute Lucknow (Uttar
Central Drug Research Institute Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh)
Industrial Toxicology Research Institute Lucknow
(Uttar Pradesh)
Central Drug Research Institute Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh)
Indian Veterinary Research Institute  Bareilly (Uttar Pradesh)
Textile Research Institute Ahmedabad (Gujarat)
National Institution of Occupation Health Ahmedabad (Gujarat)
Central Potato Research Institute Shimla (Himachal
Central Mechanical Engineering Research Institute Durgapur (West Bengal)
Central Leprosy Training and Research Institute Chengalpattu (Tamil Nadu)
King Institute of Preventive Medicine  Chennai (Tamil Nadu)
Indian Institute of  Sugarcane Research Lucknow
(Uttar Pradesh)
Central Leather Research Institute Chennai (Tamil
Central Electro-Chemical Research Institute Karaikudi (Tamil Nadu)
Central Food Technological Research Institute Mysore
National Institute of Virology Pune (Maharashtra)
Indian Institute of Natural Resins and Gums

(Indian Lac research institute)

Ranchi (Jharkhand)
PGI Medical Education and Research Chandigarh
Indian Institute of Chemical Biology Kolkata (West
Central Jute Technological Research Institute Kolkata
(West Bengal)
Archaeological Survey of India New Delhi
School of Tropical Medicine Kolkata (West Bengal)
All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health Kolkata (West Bengal)
Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute Kolkata
(West Bengal)
National Geophysics Research Institute Hyderabad
National Institute of Nutrition Hyderabad (Telangana)
High Altitude Research Laboratory Gulmarg (Jammu
and Kashmir)
Central Building Research Institute Roorkee
Central Scientific Instruments Organization Chandigarh (Punjab)
Central Salt and Marine Chemical Research Institute Bhavnagar (Gujarat)
Central Rice Research Institute Cuttack (Odisha)
National Institute of Oceanography Panaji (Goa )
National Sugar Research Institute Kanpur (Uttar