India Flag Meaning

India Flag

The National Flag of India was first adopted in its present form on 22nd of July in 1947 in the meeting of Constituent Assembly, few days before the independence of country from British rule on 15th of August in 1947. It was designed by Pingali Venkayya using tricolours, Ashok Chakra and Khadi cloth. India flag is designed using three colours such as
1. Deep saffron (topmost)
2. White (middle)
3. India green (lowermost).
4. The middle white colour contains navy blue Ashoka Chakra.

Saffron Colour
The topmost part of the national flag is designed using saffron colour which indicates courage and selflessness of the nation.

White Colour
The middle part of the Indian national flag is designed using white colour which represents the honesty, purity and peace of the nation. According to the Indian philosophy, white colour also represents the cleanliness and knowledge. It lightens the path of truth in order to guide the nation.

Green Colour
The lowermost part of the Indian national flag is designed using the green colour which represents the faith, fertility and prosperity of the nation. According to the philosophy of India, green colour is a festive and stabilizing colour which represents the life and happiness. It indicates the greenery of the earth all over India.

Ashoka Chakra and 24 Spokes
According to the Hindu religion, all the 24 spokes of the national Flag represents the Life means The Dharma which is as follows:
1. Love
2. Courage
3. Patience
4. Peacefulness
5. Magnanimity
6. Goodness
7. Faithfulness
8. Gentleness
9. Selflessness
10. Self-Control
11. Self Sacrifice
12. Truthfulness
13. Righteousness
14. Justice
15. Mercy
16. Gracefulness
17. Humility
18. Empathy
19. Sympathy
20. Spiritual Knowledge
21. Moral Values
22. Spiritual Wisdom
23. Fear of God
24. Faith or Belief or Hope