ICC T20 World Cup

ICC T20 World Cup is the international championship of Twenty-20 International cricket. Organised by cricket’s governing body, the International Cricket Council.

ICC T-20 World Cup was first held in 2007. It was first decided that every two years an ICC T20 World Cup tournament is to take place, except in the event of an ICC Cricket World Cup being scheduled in the same year, in which case it will be held the year before. The first tournament was in 2007 in South Africa where India defeated Pakistan in the final. The second tournament was won by Pakistan who beat Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in England on 21 June 2009. The 2010 ICC World Twenty20 tournament was held in West Indies in May 2010, where England defeated Australia by 7 wickets. The 2012 ICC World Twenty20 was won by the West-Indies, by defeating Sri Lanka at the finals. For the first time, a host nation competed in the final of the ICC World Twenty20. There were 12 participants for the title including Ireland and Afghanistan as 2012 ICC World Twenty-20 Qualifier. It was the first time the World Twenty20 tournament took place in an Asian country.

The 2020 ICC T20 World Cup is scheduled to be the seventh ICC T20 World Cup tournament, with matches to be held in Australia from 18 October to 15 November 2020.

Winners of the ICC World T20

The ICC World T20 is held every two years. Six tournaments have so far been played since the first in 2007. The current title holders the West Indies are the only team to have won the tournament more than once.






2020 Australia
2016 India West Indies won by 4 wickets England
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets India
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies won by 36 runs Sri Lanka
2010 West Indies England won by 7 wickets Australia
2009 England Pakistan won by 8 wickets Sri Lanka
2007 South Africa India won by 5 runs Pakistan