Difference Between Rabi and Kharif Crops

Different Types of Crops

There are several types of crops include: Kharif crops, Rabi crops, Zaid crops, Food crops, Cash crops. All crops do not grow in the same season. Different crops have specific time and suitable climatic conditions. Based on the climatic conditions, crops in India are broadly classified into two categories:

  1. Kharif crops
  2. Rabi crops

1. Kharif Crops

The Kharif cropping season starts with the onset of monsoon and ends when the rainy season is over. The rabi crops are sown at the end of monsoon and harvested before the advent of the summer season. These crops require good rainfall. The output of these crops depends upon the time and amount of rainwater. Paddy, maize, bajra, jowar are a few Kharif crops grown in India.


  1. Rice
  2. Maize
  3. Sorghum
  4. Millets
  5. Ragi
  6. Soybean
  7. Cotton

2. Rabi Crops

Rabi crops are known as winter crops. They are grown in the month of October or November. The crops are then harvested in spring. These crops require frequent irrigation because these are grown in dry areas. Wheat, gram, barley, are some of the rabi crops grown in India.

Kharif Crops


  1. Wheat
  2. Barley
  3. Oats
  4. Pulses
  5. Mustard
  6. Linseed

Difference Between Rabi Crops and Kharif Crops

Kharif Crop

Rabi Crop

Sown when the rainy season begins, i.e. between April-May. Sown when the winter season ends, i.e. between September- October.
Also known as monsoon crops. Also known as winter crops.
Affected by rainfall pattern. Not affected by rainfall pattern.
Requires hot weather and a large amount of water to grow. Requires warm climate for seed germination and cold climate to grow.
The harvesting month is between September-October. The harvesting month is between March-April.
Maize, rice, cotton, groundnut are example of Kharif crops. Peas, wheat, gram and barley are example of Rabi crops.